Let the blogging begin!

I needed a change, something different in my life. I wavered between getting a tattoo or getting chickens. I chose chickens, since they are more productive, exciting, and will be a fun learning experience for P! We figured, why not.You only live once, and my dream is to live on a little farm, sustaining ourselves off the grid as much as possible. I don’t see a way in the near future that we could pull this off since both of us work in the city and we’re doing so much work on our little house it would be hard to pick up and leave it now! So, maybe we can try to live sustainably right here in the city. Since most of our friends and family seem pretty amused by the whole situation, I thought I’d blog about our adventures so you can all live (and laugh) vicariously through us!

Here’s what we have so far on our little farm. Animal:  One man, one woman, one toddler, and one brother; an 80-pound Labradoodle, an angry cat that needs some antipsychotic meds, three chickens, various wild urban rabbits and some mosquitoes.

Plant:  12 or so tomato bushes (and I mean bushes, these things are insane), peppers (poblano, banana, jalapeno, bell) , peas, green beans, zucchini, pumpkins, eggplant, cucumbers, swiss chard, kale, corn, collard greens, spinach (is already spent), mesclun mix, acorn squash, red onions, cilantro, dill, oregano, lavender, lemon balm, lemon verbena, basil genovese, cinnamon basil, spearmint, echinacea, rosemary, sage, chives, thyme, strawberries, plums, raspberries, honeycrisp apples, and hops. That’s just the edibles! My goal is to cover or front yard with flowering perennials and we’ve got a prettygood start so far (blanket flowers, asiatic lilies, daylilies, bee balm, blanket flowers, russian sage, lambs ear, salvia, rose, iris, clematis, catmint, delphinium, peony, lilacs, hollyhocks, bleeding hearts, columbine are the ones I think of right away) plus a bunch of annuals.

Mineral: not sure what is considered a mineral. There’s lots of dirt in our yard, and a stone patio B built, does that count?

I’ll try and post a photo of our house after I get done writing this. Other adventures planned include:  quilting, sewing, canning, root-cellaring, pickling, soapmaking, cheesemaking, sprout sprouting, who knows what else. You, dear blog reader, will be the first to know! Let me know if you’re interested in learning any of these skills along with me!

Leave a Reply

